ALI Co-Founder Ken Ofori-Atta named Ghana Finance Minister designate

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has named renowned investment banker, Ken Ofori-Atta, as his Finance Minister, pending parliamentary approval.

Mr. Ofori-Atta, a cousin to the President, stepped down as head of Databank, to serve as the Director in-charge of fundraising for the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) 2016 presidential campaign.

Making the announcement of 13 people as the first batch of his ministerial appointments at the Flagstaff House on Tuesday, Nana Akufo-Addo said Mr. Ofori-Atta has the capacity to lead the finance sector that will ensure the transformation of the country’s economy.

About Ken Ofori-Atta

Mr. Ofori-Atta, co-founder of Databank was born in 1959 at Kyebi in the Eastern Region.

Ken had his education at Achimota School, and proceeded to have a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Columbia University (1984) and an MBA from the Yale University School of Management in 1988.

Ken founded Databank with Daniel Ofori-Atta, Keli Gadzekpo and Torgbui Afede in 1990. Ken serves as a director for numerous companies and member and some boards too.

He is a Director for Enterprise Group Ltd and Trust Bank Ltd of The Gambia of which he is Chairman. He is a Director at the International Bank of Liberia and is also a Board Member of the Acumen Fund.

Ken is a fellow of the Aspen Institute, and was adjudged as the 2nd most respected C.E.O in Ghana. Ken is a Donaldson Fellow at Yale University and a recipient of the John Jay Award from Columbia University.

Ken is married to Dr. Angela Ofori-Atta, a Clinical Psychologist at the University of Ghana Medical School.

First Batch of ministerial appointments (13)

Senior Minister – Yaw Osafo Maafo

National Security Minister – Albert Kan Dapaah

Trade & Industry – Alan Kyeremanten

Minister of Finance – Ken Ofori-Atta

Minister of Food & Agric – Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto

Boakye Agyarko – Minister for Energy

Dominic Nitiwul – Minister of Defense

Ambrose Dery – Minister of Interior

Shirley Ayorkor Botchway – Foreign Affairs Minister

Gloria Akuffo- Minister of Justice and Attorney General

Hajia Alima Mahama – Minister for Local Government & Rural Development

Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Minister for Education

Kwaku Agyemang Manu – Minister of Health

By: Ebenezer Afanyi Dadzie/

- See more at: